It's time to step on the scales for another edition of The Weigh In. Here's what's on the brain: Vesa Toskala, Martin Brodeur and Wade Belak, Matt Stairs and baseball happenings, the Toronto Argos, and Super Bowl 41 and a Half...
Weighing In on the Leafs
Seriously, how great was Vesa Toskala last night? He put on an unbelievable display of goaltending on the road against a tough Montreal Canadiens team. I think I saw Andrew Raycroft on the bench with a pen and a pad, taking notes.
Toskala stole one for the Leafs last night while Cristobal Huet did his best Raycroft impression letting in a couple of softies, especially the game winner by Matt Stajan. I've got to show some love to Stajan. I dissed him after Friday night's loss and he completely redeemed himself with a goal and an assist last night. It goes to show that it's never a bad idea to put the puck on the net. Or towards the net. Just ask Mats Sundin - both goals he scored over the weekend were from behind the goal line.
I wasn't expecting Toskala to get the start in back-to-back games. But he did, and thank goodness. He is without a doubt now the number one goalie on this team, and proved it again with his play last night. He made at least 10 tremendous saves of the difficult variety, and was especially strong late in the third period. His reflexes are incredible, as is his post-to-post movement. Attaboy, Vesa...
Sticking with the Leafs, 15 games are in the books which means Mark Bell's suspension is now officially over. He'll be in the lineup on Tuesday night when the Leafs are in Ottawa to face the Senators, who are sporting a tidy 11-1 record and looking every bit like the team that marched all the way to the Stanley Cup final last year.
Damn Senators.
They also locked up Jason Spezza for a cool $49 million over seven years. The future is bright in Ottawa.
Damn Senators.
Kyle Wellwood may also be dressed for Tuesday night, but his status is still up in the air. I doubt we'll see Wellwood on Tuesday, but Mark Bell will definitely be playing, and I'm looking forward to his Maple Leaf debut. I'm sure he is too...
Weighing In on Matt Stairs and Baseball
Extremely glad to hear that Matt Stairs is back in the fold for another two years with the Blue Jays. J.P. Ricciardi saw how valuable Stairs was last season and locked him up quickly once the season ended. The "Everything Man," as I called him a few months ago, Stairs will once again be a solid left-handed bat off the bench and can play some left field or first base. He'll come in handy, because you know just as well as I do that the Jays will be ravaged by injury, as usual...
Joe Girardi is the new manager in New York. I was a little surprised the Yankees didn't go with Don Mattingly, but it's hard to argue with Girardi after the success he had coaching (or is it managing?) the Florida Marlins a few years ago. Girardi's an intense, blue-collar kind of guy and it's going to be very interesting to see whether he'll be able to manage the big ego's in the Yankee clubhouse.
I definitely like his decision to wear the number 27 on his jersey, though. The Yankees have been stuck on 26 championships for the last seven years (oh, the horror, so tough is the life of Yankee fans) and Girardi has chosen to wear number 27 to ensure no one forgets what the goal is. I guess John Gibbons should wear number 3...
In another interesting development, Joe Torre has landed back on his feet in Los Angeles with the Dodgers. My dream of him becoming the Blue Jays manager lasted a good two weeks. Deep down, I knew it wasn't going to happen. This is a good signing for the Dodgers. They've always had clubhouse issues - hard not to when you have morons like Jeff Kent on your squad - but if there's anyone who can bring harmony to a clubhouse, it's Joe Torre. If he could do it in New York, he can definitely make it happen in La-La land...
It's been a week since the World Series ended and after some reflection and contemplation, I think it's safe to say we were witness to the worst baseball playoffs, and World Series, of all time. What a snooze fest. Five out of the seven series were sweeps, including a no-contest World Series. The most exciting moment of the entire playoffs, for me at least, was not even an actual play - the swarming of Joba Chamberlain by all those bugs while he was on the mound in Cleveland is what I remember most vividly. And that's kind of sad.
The baseball just wasn't that good. Major League Baseball really needs to expand the playoffs so that more mediocre teams make the playoffs and play each other. And by mediocre, yes, I mean the Toronto Blue Jays. There's only one October, and thank God for that...
With Alex Rodriguez opting out of his contract, it's interesting to see what the oft-injured A.J. Burnett is going to do after next season. The Jays' "ace," and I use the term very lightly, has an opt-out clause in his contract after the third season. The smart money has Burnett saying goodbye to the Blue Jays and going after more loot (wouldn't that be shocking?). If Ted Lilly and Gil Meche get paid more than Burnett, you know A.J. is going to want a new deal. So Blue Jays fans, enjoy the final year of A.J. Burnett's extremely disappointing tenure in Toronto...
Weighing In on Wade Belak and Martin Brodeur
You're probably wondering how the hell Belak and Brodeur could possibly be connected. Well, in Friday night's tilt between the Leafs and Devils, Brodeur picked up an assist on one of the Devils' goals. It was the 28th assist of his career and, along with his one goal, he now has 29 points in his career. That's one more than Mr. Wade Belak.
I'm not sure what is more amazing, the fact that Brodeur has more points than Belak, or the fact that Belak has managed to make a living playing hockey in the NHL. I know, Belak isn't exactly kept around to score points, but outscored by a goalie? That's just wrong...
Weighing In on the Toronto Argos
In mid-September the Argos were sporting an ugly 4-7 record and the possibility of them playing in the Grey Cup in Toronto was looking about as good as Raycroft winning the Vezina.
Things have changed. Since then, the Argos have caught fire and won seven games in a row and are today Eastern Division champs. They will now host the Eastern Division final on November 11 and if they win, they'll be playing in the Grey Cup, at home in the Rogers SkyDome Centre (I've decided I'm putting "SkyDome" back in title).
Led by fantastic special teams and the league's best defense, the Argos have been on fire the last month and a half. They finished the season with a 41-13 dismantling of the Saskatchewan Roughriders yesterday. Their defense allowed only 336 points all year, a league best.
As much as I hear Michael Bishop and the Argos offense get railed on talk radio, Bishop wins football games. With Bishop driving the Boatmen, the Argos have a record of 11-1. I know the defense has carried this team, but Toronto, please stop complaining about Michael Bishop.
There's only one thing to say about Toronto's hot streak to win the Eastern Division and secure a playoff game at home: AaaaaaarrrrrrrGoooooooooooooooosss!!!!!!!...
Weighing In on Super Bowl 41 and a Half
The undefeated New England Patriots and the undefeated Indianapolis Colts face off in a clash of the titans this afternoon. The Colts are the defending champions, haven't lost a game at home in, I think, 14 games, and are the underdogs going in to today's game. That's not showing a lot of respect to Indy. But can you really blame Vegas? The Patriots have just been dominating this year. They've embarrassed their opponents, week in and week out.
I'm not sure which name I like better for this game - the Perfect Bowl, or Super Bowl 41 and a Half. Both are beauties.
As for who's the better quarterback, I think I've got to go with Tom Brady, simply because he dates and impregnates incredibly hot women...
November 04, 2007
The Weigh In #3
Posted by
Navin Vaswani (@eyebleaf)
at
11/04/2007
0
comments
Tags: A.J. Burnett, indy colts, joe torre, Mats Sundin, matt stairs, Ottawa Senators, spezza, Tom Brady, Toronto Argos, Toronto Blue Jays, Toronto Maple Leafs, Vesa Toskala, Wade Belak
January 22, 2007
Patriots and Colts - One For The Ages...
Wah-Wah-Wee-Wah, what a football game.
The Colts are going to the Super Bowl. They defeated the Patriots 38-34 Sunday night, in one of the best football games I have ever seen.
Tom Brady is human, after all.
Manning is a loser, no more. Like Ace Ventura Pet Detective, he has "exorcised the demons".
What a game. I've seen a lot of football games in my day. I watched the Bills lose four straight Super Bowls. I watched John Elway and the Broncos win their titles, and Brett Favre and the Packers win their titles. But tonight was a classic. I know it's been said a thousand times before, but it really was One For The Ages. Brady and Manning, round three, and Manning finally came out on top.
The Colts came from behind and won after being down 18 points. No team has ever come back from such a deficit in a championship game. From the start it seemed that Brady and the Patriots would better Manning and the Colts again - this time in Indianapolis, in a dome, where the weather didn't matter. But Manning wouldn't let it happen. He was amazing in the second half and no one can say that Manning and the Colts don't deserve to be going to the big dance.
Manning deserves all the credit in the world. He refused to quit; he refused to let his team and his fans down once more. I don't know if it's possible to change your legacy in one game, but if it is, Manning did it tonight.
Brady and the Patriots were on tonight - they were solid. They played classic New England football, but the Colts were better. The second half was phenomenal and once the Colts tied the game at 21 a piece, it was a see-saw battle. The two teams went at each other drive for drive, score for score. In the end, Manning drove his team down the field 80 yards to seal the victory with a minute left on the clock.
At that point, I still thought Brady had one more comeback in him. I figured if anyone could do it, it was Brady. He's freakin' SuperMan. And he almost did it. But tonight was Peyton and the Colts' turn. It was their destiny to go to the Super Bowl. A very Brady interception with 24 seconds left sealed the game for Indy, and they deserved it, straight up.
It was just a great battle. An epic battle. Yeah, I'm trying to be dramatic as possible here. But if you missed the game, the highlights won't do it justice.
The camera shots of Manning on the sidelines when New England got the ball back, down 38-34, with a minute left, were amazing. He just couldn't even look at the field. He didn't have the heart to do it. Those shots were really provocative. Manning admitted after the game that he said a prayer. That's what you've got to do against Tom Brady and the Pats - pray. For all of us Leafs fans out there, we know exactly what that's all about.
Coming into this game, Bill Belichick was 8-0 in playoff games decided by seven points or less. What a statistic. You can say a team gets lucky only so many times - that it's luck that a team wins the close games. But you can only say it a couple of times. Belichick and the Pats always won the close games, and that's what made them so amazing. Their run finally came to an end tonight though, and the Colts were deserving of their fate.
The Super Bowl will be the Colts vs DA BEARS in Miami, and it should be a great game. I think the Colts will walk out of Florida as Super Bowl Champions, but only time will tell. For Manning and the Colts to lose to the Bears would just be a shame. Tonight was practically their Super Bowl. They beat the team they so badly wanted to beat. Now, they've just got to win one more game, to complete their magical season.
As a newly bred Patriots fan, and a lifelong fan of the underdog, it sucked to watch the Pats lose this game. But Manning and the Colts have paid their dues. They deserved to win. In order to become a champion, a team and its players have to learn how to lose. The Colts know all about losing the big game. But no longer can they be labelled chokers, because today they won the big game. The choking label belongs to teams and players that deserve it - like Daniel Alfredsson and the Ottawa Senators - and Manning and the Colts shook that label off tonight, in emphatic fashion.
It should be a great Super Bowl. The Bears stingy defense, led by warrior Brian Urlacher, up against Manning and the Colts, and their high-flying offense. Get the nachos and brews ready, because it's going to a be a barn-burner.
A big shout out to Peyton Manning - loser no more.
Goodnight Toronto...
Posted by
Navin Vaswani (@eyebleaf)
at
1/22/2007
0
comments
Tags: ace ventura, adam vinatieri, bill belichik, buffalo bills, indy colts, New England Patriots, Peyton Manning, Tom Brady
January 14, 2007
Brady's Bunch...
Tom Brady has done it again.
The New England Patriots are on their way to another AFC Championship Game after they knocked off the #1 ranked San Diego Chargers.
I was talking to a buddy before this game, and we both agreed that if anybody could beat the Chargers in this game, it was Tom Brady and his Patriots.
The Chargers are led by super-human running back Ladanian Tomlinson, this season's MVP, and up-start quarterback Philip Rivers. San Diego didn't lose a game at home all year - they were 8-0.
Only one man could take his team on the road to one of the tougher stadiums to play in, and beat the "team to beat" in their own building, against the MVP. That man is Tom Brady.
Tomlinson still had a great game. He's a touchdown machine, and he still got two of them, and ran for over 120 yards, but it wasn't enough to break the unflappable Tom Brady.
I wish I was Tom Brady. He's like the Don of football in the 21st century. He just wins. He's got the game, the confidence, and the looks. He's got it all. If I could be any athlete on the planet, it would be a tough call between Brady and Derek Jeter.
New England continues to lose key players every off season - this year it was Dieon Branch - but they just keep winning, against all odds.
Brady didn't even have his best game today. He threw for two touchdowns but in very un-Brady-like fashion he also threw three interceptions. But when the clock ran out, it was his Patriots who were up 24-21, and once again marching towards another Super Bowl.
It's going to be another classic Brady-Manning encounter next week when the Pats and Colts meet in the AFC Championship, and I can't wait. No one can say anything about Peyton Manning's abilities and what he has done with the Indianapolis Colts, but Tom Brady just gets the job done, with surgeon-type precision.
Right now, Brady's a winner, and Manning is a loser. Those are the legacies, as I see it, of two of the finest QB's of the 21st century.
I've never really been a "fan" of Brady and the Patriots. Unfortunately, my allegiance lyes with the pathetic Buffalo Bills. But I respect Tom Brady and how he finds a way to win. And that's kind of making me a Patriots fan, as disturbing as that is to me. It's easy to hate on a winner, but the way Tom Brady goes about his business, it's hard to hate him.
---------------
Anyways, speaking of losers, how about Andrew Raycroft and the performance he put in on Hockey Day in Canada?
What a stinker.
The Leafs outshot the visiting Vancouver Canucks 36-21 and came out losers 6 to 1. Absolutely ridiculous.
Raycroft is a sorry excuse for a number one goaltender, and he knows it too. He makes me sick.
The boo-birds were out in full force last night, and deservedly so. Granted, five of the six goals were scored on the power play, but three of them went right through Razor's legs, and those are saves he just has to make.
Andrew, listen up. Close your god damn legs and put your glove higher. Jesus freakin Christ!
Supposedly Sundin was really upset about the fans booing Raycroft and even swore during his post-game interview, saying how Raycroft has played really well for the team so far this season.
Mats, I know it's your job as the Captain to support your teammates, and you do a great job of it, but saying he's played really well this season? Give me a freakin' break man. Even Raycroft knows you're lying.
The Leafs, with their penchant to take the most ridiculous penalties, and their sub-par goaltending, are going absolutely nowhere. I keep thinking they'll turn it around the next game, but there isn't a magical switch they can just turn on and off in order to win some hockey games. They're just not good enough.
Tucker, Poni and Antropov are slated to return this week, which means the inevitable trip back to the minors for some of the Marlies who were called up from the farm.
Ondrus, Devereaux and Newbury should be suiting up for the Marlies, if it were up to me. Their service has been appreciated, and they stepped in admirably, but the Leafs need some healthy NHL-calibre forwards.
It's tough to send Devereaux back to the farm after he's played so well since getting called up, but I just don't see any other options. There's always the dream that Stajan will be sent down, or altogether released, but I know that's not going to happen.
---------------
The Raptors lost a heartbreaker today to the Dallas Mavericks, 97-96, on a last second shot by Josh Howard. It was a game the Raptors led most of the way, and led handily. The Mavericks proved what a good team they are and showed the Raptors that they have a lot to learn before they can become an elite team in the NBA.
For a young team like Toronto, losses like these are good ones. To quote the great MC, Talib Kweli:
"Even when we suffer losses I count the victories."
Today was one of those games. The Mavs showed that no matter how many points you're down by, you keep battling and you keep playing defense and you keep hustling. The game is 48 minutes long, and it's never over till the last second has run out.
The Mavs are also blessed in that they've got MVP candidate Dirk Nowitzki on their team. He's an amazing player. He took the Mavericks on his back all day, and hit some really difficult shots. He can put the ball on the floor and dominate inside and can light it up from three-point land as well. He really is the total package, and he plays hard, with passion and fire. He loves to get dirty on the boards and he's got an amazing fade-away jumper that is one of the best in the league.
Dirk's the real deal, and that's why it's so encouraging to know that people are already comparing my main man Andrea Bargnani's game to his. Bargnani's got the tools to become just like Disco Dirk, and that's music to my ears.
Hopefully the young Raptors, like Chris Bosh and Bargnani, were taking notes out there today. They have to learn be play like Nowitzki and always be aggressive, and to never give up.
Yes, it was a tough loss for the Raps, in a game they probably feel like they deserved to win, but it's losses like these that build a champion, and as long as the Raptors are headed in the right direction, I'm not concerned.
Bryan Colangelo, you're a rudey, keep up the good work.
Goodnight, Toronto...
Posted by
Navin Vaswani (@eyebleaf)
at
1/14/2007
0
comments
Tags: Andrea Bargnani, Chris Bosh, indy colts, Mats Sundin, New England Patriots, Peyton Manning, Raycrap, Tom Brady, Toronto Marlies, Toronto Raptors