My worst nightmare has come true: Matt Stajan is the Toronto Maple Leafs' number one centre. I'm not sure whether to laugh, cry, or pour myself a stiff drink.
October 30, 2008
Deep Thoughts Vol. 12: Go Leafs Go! Edition
Posted by
Navin Vaswani (@eyebleaf)
at
10/30/2008
15
comments
Tags: Alexei Ponikarovsky, Dominic Moore, i miss you mats, Jiri Tlusty, Martin Brodeur, Matt Stajan, New Jersey Devils, nikolai kulemin, Ron Wilson, Toronto Maple Leafs
October 24, 2008
Deep Thoughts Vol. 11: "Playoffs!" Edition
Are you impressed by the Toronto Maple Leafs yet? You should be. Especially after last night: a come-from-behind 4-2 victory against the Boston Bruins, in their barn. That's what the kids call a "character win."
Posted by
Navin Vaswani (@eyebleaf)
at
10/24/2008
16
comments
Tags: cujo, down goes brown, I miss the god damn playoffs, Jason Blake, Jiri Tlusty, Mats Sundin, Pension Plan Puppets, Ron Wilson, SUNDIN FOR LIFE, Toronto Maple Leafs, Vesa Toskala, Winnipeg Jets
May 24, 2008
Textbook Toronto Development
Folks, it's all over for our favourite minor league hockey team, the Toronto Marlies. They were eliminated from the Calder Cup playoffs last night by the Chicago Wolves.
Sure, it was a 19 game playoff run, but it didn't do much for the development of the future Toronto Maple Leafs.
Jiri Tlusty, he of nude photography fame, scored a whopping two goals in 19 post-season games. Yikes. Hell, even Andy Wozniewski managed to score four. Tlusty's playoff disappearing act certainly doesn't bode well for the future, although it's not like he and the Leafs will be playing in playoff games anytime soon.
Speaking of two, that's how many playoff games Justin Pogge, the franchise's anointed goaltender of the future, the goaltending prospect the brains upstairs chose over Tuukka Rask, started out of 19. Yeah, that's really going to help him develop into a top-flight NHL calibre goalie. Well done coach Greg Gilbert, well done.
Alex Foster, who I believe got into a few games with the big club a few months ago, also contributed a measly two goals.
So did Jay Harrison, but he added 10 assists and was one of the few bright spots for the Marlies. Where the fuck was this guy this past season? How is it humanly possible that Andy Wozniewski made the Toronto Maple Leafs - Andy fucking Wozniewski! - out of training camp, and Staffan Kronwall got the call when Carlo Colaiacovo went down with his annual season-ending injury, while Harrison was toiling in the minors? Ridiculous. Straight ridiculous.
If you're wondering, John Mitchell led the Marlies in goal scoring with eight and David Ling led the team with 17 points. For the full scoring breakdown, check out the layout.
A serious lack of discipline devastated the Marlies against Chicago. The Wolves averaged more than eight power plays a game in the five game series and they made Toronto pay, scoring 10 power play goals on 41 opportunities. Last night they were 3-for-9 with the man advantage. In contrast, the Marlies scored two power play markers all series. It's pretty obvious the Marlies are the farm team of the Leafs. Much like the big club the Marlies can't score on the power play or kill penalties, either. Idiots.
In my honest and ever-important opinion, Greg Gilbert should be fired for choosing to play Scott Clemmensen ahead of Pogge. It was an absurd decision and one that could only be allowed to happen under this franchise. Someone - Cliff Fletcher, I'm lookin at you Grandpa - should have bitch-slapped Greg Gilbert stepped in and made sure Pogge was between the pipes. What you have here is another, might I add shining, example of Toronto Maple Leafs player development. Textbook fucking MLSE development. You know how we do.
The optimist in me wants to believe that Pogge won 50% of the games he started, and that Tlusty, who finished fifth on the team in playoff scoring with 10 points, is going to be one fine NHLer. But the realist in me knows that Tlusty went AWOL, that a great opportunity to see what Pogge could have done has been lost, and that this franchise is being run by some serious douchebags who clearly don't know what the hell they are doing.
I need a drink.
Posted by
Navin Vaswani (@eyebleaf)
at
5/24/2008
7
comments
Tags: Andy Wozniewski, Carlo Colaiacovo, Douchebaggery, Greg Gilbert, i need a drink, idiots, Jiri Tlusty, Justin Pogge, Kill Me, staffan kronwall, Toronto Maple Leafs, Toronto Marlies
March 30, 2008
Hope
The future was on display last night for the Toronto Maple Leafs. Led by two goals each from youngsters Jiri Tlusty and Anton Stralman, and three assists from Nik Antropov, it seems as though there may be light at the end of the long, long tunnel of disappointment.
The game, a 4-2 Leafs final and not-so-classic HNIC encounter between Toronto and Montreal, meant nothing for the home side. So it was to no one's surprise that the Leafs came flying out of the gate, out-shooting the Habs 10-2 in the first twenty minutes.
It was a surprise, however, to see Vesa Toskala still between the pipes for the Leafs, making his 30th consecutive start, even though the season is now officially a lost cause. It goes to show just how far Andrew Raycroft's stock has fallen. And it almost makes me feel bad for the guy. Almost. He's still a douche.
Raycrap will be between the pipes on Tuesday against the Buffalo Sabres, and I hope the Sabres absolutely crush him. I'm thinking, like, 10-2. One of those severe beatings the Leafs are so good at taking. Lay it all on him, Buffalo. Make his final start in Toronto one he will never, ever forget.
Anyway, back to the kids. They were pretty damn good last night. At the beginning of March, Tlusty was on the fourth line, playing only a few minutes every night, leading me to question how his development was being handled. Wouldn't he be better served down on the farm with the Marlies, playing 20 minutes a night?
Tlusty will be on his way to the Marlies for their playoff run once the Leafs' season wraps up, and in recent weeks his ice time increased. In the last two games, he found himself alongside the Captain.
Well, Tlusty's made the most of his time on the first line. He scored twice on nifty deflections last night, and added an assist. It was his fourth point in the last two games. His second goal last night was his 10th of the season. Not bad for a kid playing limited minutes in his first NHL season. Hell, on some nights Tlusty was out on a line with sharp-shooter Wade Belak. Think about it, Jason Blake has 15 goals this year, only five more than our nudey-picture-taking youngster. Tlusty, only 20 years old, has a bright future and will be looked to improve on his numbers next year.
As for Anton Stralman, the Leafs are hoping they've found the next Tomas Kaberle in the smooth-skating Swedish defenceman. Kaberle was chosen with the 204th pick in the 1996 draft. Stralman was selected by Toronto in the seventh round, 216th overall. Kaberle certainly slipped through the cracks (thank God), and the Leafs are hoping they've found another diamond in the rough in young Anton.
Since the Hal Gill trade, Stralman has found himself a fixture on the Leafs blue line, and hasn't looked out of place. He can skate like the wind, can make the break-out pass, and definitely has some offensive flair. Anton's second goal of the game last night was a thing of beauty, and showed just how much talent this kid has. An end-to-end rush, Stralman finished it off with one hell of a wrist shot that hit iron and found the back of the net. Check it out:
Like Tlusty, Stralman will be counted on a lot more going forward, especially next season. I think he's played himself on to the team next year, although there should be no guarantees. We've got to keep the kids hungry. But, with that being said, if the Leafs do move one of McCabe and/or Kubina, Stralman becomes all the more important.
Before I bid you adieu, I've got to shout out Nik Antropov for his performance last night as well. He racked up three assists, upping his point total this season to 56 in 72 games. For Antropov, it has definitely been a breakout campaign, one he desperately needed for his own psyche, to prove that he can play in this league. For the Antropov haters still out there, and there are plenty, there's more to his stats than just 56 points. His +10 is tied for second-best on the team, his 12 power play goals lead the club, as do his five game winning goals. Antropov, still relatively young at 28, is a key forward for the Leafs going into next year, regardless of what anyone says. The thought of trading Antropov should not even be entertained, especially with his bargain salary of just over $2 million dollars.
It's been another cluster-fuck of a regular season here in Toronto, but last night gave me a little bit of hope. And even though he won't be the coach of the Maple Leafs much longer, Paul Maurice was right about one thing: without hope, you ain't got a damn thing.
Posted by
Navin Vaswani (@eyebleaf)
at
3/30/2008
8
comments
Tags: Anton Stralman, Jiri Tlusty, Montreal Canadiens, Nik Antropov, Paul Maurice, Raycrap, Tomas Kaberle, Toronto Maple Leafs, Vesa Toskala
March 24, 2008
Improbable Victories
It only took 70 plus games but, to a man, the Toronto Maple Leafs are finally pulling their weight. The Leafs went into Buffalo and Ottawa over the weekend, two buildings where they haven't had much success over the years, and came out with two improbable wins including Saturday night's thriller which I'm still pumped about.
Posted by
Navin Vaswani (@eyebleaf)
at
3/24/2008
3
comments
Tags: Darcy Tucker, Dominic Moore, Ian White, Jason Blake, Jiri Tlusty, Kyle Wellwood, Martin Gerber, Matt Stajan, Ottawa Senators, Pavel Kubina, Toronto Maple Leafs
January 04, 2008
Penguins Layeth The Smacketh Downeth
I'm always bitching and moaning about the lack of accountability on the Toronto Maple Leafs hockey club. Well, Paul Maurice and company ushered in 2008 with some changes, so I've got to show the team some respect. There's only one problem - the Leafs still stink.
Another spanking went into the books last night at the hands of the Pittsburgh Penguins. A 6-2 final, including three goals by the Pens in 48 seconds early in the third period. Three goals in 48 seconds. I can't even make myself a drink in 48 seconds. OK, well, maybe if I try really hard.
As for those changes I mentioned. Andrew Raycroft has been sent to the bench, hopefully with some super glue so he can never play for the Leafs again, and Kyle Wellwood has been banished to the press box as a healthy scratch.
Raycrap can rot in goaltending hell but it's tough times for Welly. He was supposed to be the Leafs' second-line centre this season and was expected to put up 65 points. But it's clear to anyone who's been watching him play that he just isn't the same since his groin and abdominal injuries. I gotta say that Wellwood is one strange cat. He supposedly doesn't own a television and while being interviewed on Tuesday morning about his upcoming night off he was pretty upbeat, and was even wearing a smile. Umm, Kyle, you're supposed to be disappointed. At least show me you're freaking disappointed. I think the whole camera and television thing just tripped him out. At least I hope that was the case. Otherwise he's a douche.
The lineup changes worked on January 1st, although Toronto's opponent were the Tampa Bay Lightning, who are even more pathetic than my Leafs. Haha, losers! Scott Clemmensen, who broke my heart last year, was between the pipes and the Leafs actually won a game via the dreaded shootout. Seriously, I kid you not. A shootout against Vincent Lecavalier, Brad Richards and Martin St. Louis. That's the NHL's leading scorer (Lecavalier), a former Conn Smythe Trophy winner (Richards), and a former scoring champion (St. Louis). Typical Toronto Maple Leafs. It proves that anyone, including Clemmensen, is better than Raycroft the goaltending sieve.
Wellwood was in the press box again last night and Clemmensen got his second straight start in goal, but it didn't matter. The Leafs hung Clemmensen out to dry like he was, well, Raycroft, and I'm guessing Wellwood will be back in the lineup on Saturday night after another anemic offensive performance by the boys in blue and white.
The good news? Isn't much, other than the amazing fact that Jason Blake scored for the first time on the road this freaking season last night at the Igloo. Only took half the year. Atta boy, Blake!
Here's what I'm upset about, and I'll keep it short and simple: Paul Maurice should have called a timeout when Pittsburgh made it 4-1, with two goals in 37 seconds. Instead, play continued and the Penguins bagged another one 11 seconds later. Then Maurice used his timeout, but by then it was already sweet dreams Toronto. Way to coach back there, Mo.
And for the love of Christ, Jiri Tlusty needs to be sent back down to the minors. The rookie played less than five minutes last night. There's no point for him to be playing on the fourth line with a playmaker like Wade Belak when he can be playing 20 minutes a game on the best team in the American Hockey League, the Toronto Marlies. Tlusty is only 19 and the Leafs can't afford to mess with this kid's development, yet they already are. The mismanagement up in here is unreal.
I'm starting to feel a bit Damien Cox-ish about the rest of this Leafs season. By that I mean negative as a mother sucker. The Leafs completed game 41 out of 82 last night, and have only 16 wins to their name. That's not good. Not good at all. The Leafs were handily beaten by a better team - a playoff team - in the Penguins last night. And while we're add it, lets add Ty Conklin's name to the list of goalies to beat the Leafs this season. Brutal.
I have kept believing the Leafs would turn it around - flick the proverbial switch - but since Toronto lost Vesa Toskala to injury, things have gotten seriously bleak 'round these parts. Toronto has dropped four of their last five contests, and seven of nine. The Leafs are the 26th-best-team (got to stay a little positive) in a 30-team-league. It's painful. I'm not too sure how much longer things will be allowed to continue this way, but I've got to believe that one of Maurice or JFJ are going to be picking up the classifieds in The Hockey News in the not-so-distant future.
The only man that can save this Leafs team, and a season that is quickly slipping away, is goaltender Toskala.
Fire the flare. I'm sending out an S.O.S.
There's just one more thing - Mark Bell, please stop fighting. Watching you get knocked out every time is embarrassing.
Posted by
Navin Vaswani (@eyebleaf)
at
1/04/2008
0
comments
Tags: Andrew Raycroft, Damien Cox, Jason Blake, Jiri Tlusty, John Ferguson Jr., Kyle Wellwood, Mark Bell, Paul Maurice, Scott Clemmensen, Tampa Bay Lightning, Toronto Maple Leafs, Vesa Toskala
November 15, 2007
Jiri's "Tlusty"
I've always heard that chicks from the Czech Republic are a little "wild." They like to drink, party, and have a good time. It seems the men of the Czech Republic are no different. Just ask 19-year-old Maple Leafs rookie Jiri Tlusty...
The morning after the Leafs lost 4-3 to the Montreal Canadiens in overtime, it was Tlusty who made the front page of the Toronto Sun. And not because he scored a couple of goals.
By now, most everyone knows the story. Nude photos of Tlusty ended up online on a Canadian gossip website, isthishappening.com. Tlusty took the photos himself, last year, on his cell phone while standing in front of a mirror. The pictures, it seems, didn't leave much to the imagination. Neither did the Sun's headline: "Lusty Tlusty."
After the game on Tuesday night the Leafs released two press releases: one from Tlusty, apologizing for the photos and his poor judgement, and one from general manager John Ferguson Jr., addressing the photos and showing support for the soon-to-be maligned rookie.
Leave it to the Toronto media to blow the story completely out of proportion and make it a much bigger deal than it should have been. While the topic of discussion at Leafs' practice yesterday should have been another squandered third period lead, all everyone wanted to talk about was Jiri's, well, "Tlusty."
As for The Toronto Sun, I'm not sure what their editorial board is smoking, but it's definitely some high-quality stuff. While our great nation is set to launch a public inquiry in to one of our former Prime Minister's, The Sun chose to go with Tlusty on their front page. Brilliant. Once again, the Toronto Sun showed why it's the laughing stock of Toronto's daily newspapers.
Here's my question regarding the nudey shots of Tlusty: who gives a damn? The Leafs have bigger problems to deal with. You know, like being the worst defensive team in the league. Yeah, that little issue.
Sure, it's a tad embarrassing for Tlusty and the organization, but it's not like he set up a dog-fighting ring and put down a few Old Yeller's. It's not like he beat his girlfriend, or set up a drug deal. He didn't get piss drunk and get behind the wheel (sorry, Mark Bell). So what's the big deal?
The pictures were taken last season while Tlusty was a member of the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds. Let's be honest folks, there isn't a whole lot to do up in the Soo. Tlusty was probably drunk (at least I hope he was), was trying to get in some girl's panties, and took some glamour shots of himself to help his cause. He made a stupid decision and got taken advantage of when someone leaked the photos online. Life goes on. How does it effect his play, or the team's play, on the ice? It doesn't, but all the negative media attention certainly does.
The Globe and Mail's Tim Wharnsby called it "another low" for the Leafs while The Star's Damien Cox wrote a whole freaking column about it. Cox really kills me sometimes. I love the guy's writing, partly because I disagree with him most of the time and he gets me going, but his column yesterday was just too much.
Cox went as far as saying Tlusty soiled "the team's famous emblem" and that upon hearing of the photos, Tlusty should have been sent back down to the minors. Cox said the Leafs are no longer a team of real tradition and only push propoganda like their slogan "The Passion That Unites Us All."
Well, I take exception to that. In part because I've got the Leafs logo with "The Passion That Unites Us All" written underneath it as my desktop background on my computer at work. It ain't propoganda to me, regardless of Tlusty's photo-op.
The truth is, I don't give a damn what hockey players, and professional athletes in general, do when they're not at the rink. If Tlusty enjoys taking nudey glamour shots of himself in the mirror and posting them on his Facebook page, by all means Jiri, knock yourself out. If Tlusty is gay (the photo on the cover of the Sun had him tonguing another male), all the power to him. All I care about is wins and losses and, right now, there aren't enough wins in the win column.
Vesa Toskala could be cross-dresser when he's not at the rink for all I care, but if he stops the puck 91 times out of 100 shots when he's on the ice, he's the man. It's as simple as that.
Tlusty's only 19 years old. He's a kid. Let's keep that in mind, Damien Cox. We all pounded a few beers back in our teenager days and did some stupid stuff we're not proud of. Heck, sometimes I didn't even need the beer to perform random acts of idiocy. Luckily, for those old enough, the internet wasn't around back then to document our stupidity. For Tlusty, now a public figure in the most scrutinized hockey market in the world, it's a valuable lesson learned. I'm sure after yesterday, he's got it written down on a post-it note - no more posting or emailing nudey pics. It's a no-no. Especially in this town.
Get over it, Toronto. The Leafs have much, much bigger fish to fry...
Posted by
Navin Vaswani (@eyebleaf)
at
11/15/2007
1 comments
Tags: Damien Cox, Jiri Tlusty, John Ferguson Jr., tim wharnsby, Toronto Maple Leafs, Toronto Sun=worst newspaper ever
October 26, 2007
The Leafs Finally Deliver
It took a while - only 11 games - but the Toronto Maple Leafs finally put in a quality 60 minutes of hockey last night. They played about as perfect a road game as you can play, and I couldn't be happier with their performance, a 5-2 dubya.
I'll be honest, I figured the Leafs were in for another beating last night in Pittsburgh vs Sidney Crosby and company. The Penguins are an offensively gifted and speedy team and, for the defensively-challenged Maple Leafs, they always pose a problem. Twelve days ago the Pens peppered Vesa Toskala with 52 shots and came away with a 6-4 win in Toronto. I was fully expecting another night full of cursing at my television screen.
Much to my pleasure, the Leafs had other ideas. It seems they learned from their last game against Pittsburgh. Imagine that, the Leafs actually learning something. Shocking, I know, but it's true. Toronto learned a valuable lesson: they can't play run-and-gun hockey with a team like the Pittsburgh Penguins. Yes, the Leafs can score goals in bushels, but lord known they can't keep them out of their own net.
Last night, the Maple Leafs finally played a complete game of hockey for the first time all season. It was long overdue, and the team put in the type of performance I have long been expecting. This is a good hockey team, one that I believe in, and they proved it with their performance by beating a good club on the road.
For the boys in the blue and white, it was about as perfect a road game as can be played. Toronto limited the Pittsburgh offense from any clear-cut scoring chances and kept the shots to the outside. Toskala saw everything that came his way and was great when he needed to be. The Leafs even out-shot their opponent, something they've rarely done all year. Toronto was hemmed in their zone for lengthy periods on a couple of occasions but instead of breaking down so pathetically in the defensive zone as they have so often already this season, or taking a penalty, they kept their composure, played man-to-man defense, and were able to weather the storm.
I don't know if it was Pittsburgh's best effort of the young season last night but Toronto's a fragile hockey team, and they needed yesterday's game, bad. I needed yesterday's game, bad. It was a solid win and I'm likely as happy with the win as Jiri Tlusty is about it today.
Shout outs to the fresh-faced 19-year-old rookie Tlusty. His first ever NHL game was that which dreams are made of. Playing on a line with Matt Stajan and Alex Steen, he didn't disappoint, scoring two goals, his second - a beauty I might add - being the winner. This kid did not look out of place out there, and it's exciting to see a young prospect like Tlusty come up from the farm and deliver in his first game. The Leafs have never been the greatest at developing their own talent (that's got to be the understatement of the century) but #41 Tlusty looks like a keeper. I know, it's only one game, but the kid certainly looks like he's got a bright future.
Toronto played a great game in all facets last night. They won 59% of the face-offs, out-shot the Pens 27-25, and killed off five out of six penalties. Pittsburgh's one power play goal came on a five-on-three man advantage, and the puck deflected in off towering defenseman Hal Gill - no chance for my boy Vesa.
Entering the third period, which has been the Leafs worst period this year, the game was tied 1-1 and instead of imploding, the Leafs exploded. They pulled off four straight goals and never took their foot off the pedal. That's the key, they were hungry last night, and it showed. It was encouraging, to say the least.
The power play even showed some power last night, as Kaberle converted on a one-timer off a great no-look pass from Alex Steen.
Steener was great last night, with a goal and two assists. Pavel Kubina had his best game of the season, logging over 25 minutes in ice time with a couple of assists.
Mats Sundin, with an assist on Kaberle's goal, moved into a tie with Detroit's Henrik Zetterberg for the league's leading scorer, with 18 points. A lot of guys said Sundin was washed up - The Hockey News did not put him in their list of the Top 50 players in the NHL - and I think Sundin has taken it personally. Jason Blake is creating more room for the big man and to all you Sundin hater's out there, how do you like Mats now? He's off to the best start to a season in his career. I've said it before, Mats is like a fine wine, he gets better with age my friends.
I'm not sure who the impostor wearing Nik Antropov's #80 is, but I'm really diggin his game right now. He's dominating out there. Antropov picked up another two assists for his sixth multi-point game of the season. He's continued his tremendous start to the season and is up there on the league's leading scorers list with 14 points. Nikky's got 11 points in the last seven games. I love this guy!
Before I forget, who could have imagined the much-maligned Antropov wearing the "A" on his jersey for the injured Bryan McCabe? Antropov has really come a long way - he's a leader on this team now - and he deserves props because he's worked hard. I'm thoroughly enjoying watching him succeed. I've always liked what the lanky Kazakh has brought to this team and it's good to see it finally coming together. It's a nice!!
Despite last night's solid victory the news on the injury front isn't so good (surprise, surprise). Darcy Tucker has got a partial tear in his knee and is going to be out at least a month, if not longer. Tucker's passion will always be missed, but the Leafs have got a lot of guys who are able to carry the load - hello, Tlusty.
Bryan McCabe is also out with a groin strain. McCabe's been brutal so far this year, and hopefully the injury played a part in his vomit-inducing play. The Leafs played their best game of the year without #24 in the lineup. Coincidence? Yes. I know the media and the McCabe haters will all say it wasn't a coincidence, but believe me, it was. This guy is important to this team and anyone who says otherwise is smoking that crack. Who would you rather have out there, McCabe or Wozniewski? It's a no-brainer my friends, and don't you dare say The Woz.
Injuries. What can I say? They were bound to happen. Guys like Anton Stralman, Simon Gamache, Boyd Devereaux and Tlusty need to continue to step up. If they do, and the Leafs play team defense like they did last night, and play Toskala in net (after Saturday's pathetic performance by Raycroft - who had absolutely no business starting that game - against Chicago, he should be super-glued to the bench), the Leafs will be alright. This team isn't as bad as they have played, or everyone thinks.
Reports in the Toronto paper's and on sports radio are already discussing the replacement for John Ferguson Jr. It's ridiculous how fast this city turns on the Maple Leafs. Toronto, with all their struggles, are sitting at .500 today after their win last night. Yes, they didn't get off to the greatest start, but we're only 11 games in here people. There's a lot of time to right the ship, and hopefully it began to move in the right direction last night.
I'm not saying everything is jolly after one impressive victory. If the Leafs play one great game out of every 11, well, pass the Pepto Bismol because they're in a world of trouble. I especially know that the Leafs have been God-awful to start this season, but like I said last week, it's still early. If last night was any indication, when this team keeps it simple, forechecks hard, and plays a full 60 minutes, they're capable of big things.
The Leafs take their road show to the Big Apple on Saturday night, and they're going to need another performance like last night's if they want to continue to stay in the win column. Right now, we've got to take last night's performance, and just beleaf...
Posted by
Navin Vaswani (@eyebleaf)
at
10/26/2007
0
comments
Tags: Alex Steen, Anton Stralman, Bryan McCabe, Darcy Tucker, JFJ, Jiri Tlusty, Mats Sundin, Matt Stajan, Nik Antropov, shittsburgh penguins, Sidney Crosby, Toronto Maple Leafs, Vesa Toskala