Showing posts with label the banner is likely cursed. Show all posts
Showing posts with label the banner is likely cursed. Show all posts

August 23, 2010

Stealing Home: Baseball in the desert, Part 2


I wrote approximately 6,000 words about my visit to Chase Field, the home of the Arizona Diamondbacks. Ridiculous, I know; hence why I broke the Stealing Home entries into two parts. But it all makes sense, considering all that went down on a sunny afternoon in late May in the desert.

Baseball in the desert, Part 2 is up over at Globe Sports. Have a read. Perhaps the Toronto Blue Jays jersey I saw at Chase Field, which took me back in time, will have the same effect on you. I'll also tell you all about the swimming pool in right-centre field, and the town hall meeting I attended with Diamondbacks President and CEO Derrick Hall, then general manager Josh Byrnes, then manager A.J. Hinch, and 150 or so Arizona season-ticket holders.

Diamondbacks second baseman Kelly Johnson's and Alex Anthopoulos' names were linked during that town hall meeting. And I don't know about you, but I want nothing more than for Johnson to trade his Arizona uniform for a Toronto one. His arrival would mean the end of the Edwin Encarnacion era, with Aaron Hill taking E5's place at the hot corner. Think about it: Anthopoulos long desired Anthony Gose. And he got him. I hope the same fate awaits Johnson, his 129 wRC+, and his 4.3 WAR. Even if it means the Jays part with some of their young arms.

I'll never forget Chase Field, largely because of what it did to my "Schlagballbewusstsein." And I hope you enjoy my latest piece.

Also: be a dear, and let me know what you think about the new banner. Personally, I think it looks fantastic.

July 10, 2010

End of an era


The Sports And The City banner was born four years ago; the stunning Toronto skyline melded with photos of the city's finest: Mats Sundin, Roy Halladay, and Chris Bosh.

Sundin was the first to leave us, walking away after years of remarkable service. Tomas Kaberle, his replacement, may never play for the Toronto Maple Leafs again.

Roy Halladay followed Sundin out of town, asking to be traded by refusing -- rightfully so, really -- to sign a contract extension. Doc's replacement, Aaron Hill, is today batting below the Mendoza Line today; his - 0.2 WAR keeping me up at night.

The final punch to Toronto's sporting gut? Chris Bosh's decision to bid us adieu, and head for South Beach. The man who it has been argued is more a 1A type player is not 1, 1A, or 1B in Miami. He's the third option down there. But, hey, he's happy, rich beyond his wildest dreams, and he played his tail off for the Raptors. To each his own. The bottom line: Toronto has lost its franchise's all-time leading scorer, and he's only 26-years-old.

By now, you know the drill: it's up to you and I to decide who replaces Bosh in the banner. My vote is with Hedo Turkoglu. Because he is about to have the type of redeeming season the likes of which this town hasn't seen since, well, this year. See Wells, Vernon. (All-Star!!!1)

The options are slim: Jose Calderon, in his now famous three-point pose? (Or getting shredded on defence?) Amir Johnson? (Who I saw leaving Real Sports Bar and Grill holding his own Raptors jersey. Awkward.) Andrea Bargnani, who's most famous for not being Brandon Roy, or LaMarcus Aldridge? DeMar DeRozan? Perhaps. He has come out and told us not to worry; that he's "got us." And a little confidence is a good thing right now. Bryan Colangelo? He may have screwed this Raptors team, but he's always too well dressed to not consider. The Raptor? Sonny Weems? A trade exception? (The hell might that look like -- a big dollar sign?) Yeah: it's bleak.

Or is it time to open the floor to TFC; Dwayne DeRosario?


The poll's above, on your right. Have at it.

And thanks, as always, for reading Sports And The City. Toronto 'til we die.