I think it's safe to say that Cliff Fletcher wasn't fucking around when he vowed to change the face of the Toronto Maple Leafs hockey club going into next season.
Darcy Tucker is Fletcher's latest victim, bought out of the remaining three years of his contract, his career in the blue and white over, just like that.
While I knew it was definitely within the realm of possibilities that Tucker could be bought out, the news that it was actually going down still floored me.
Darcy Tucker. Darcy fuckin' Tucker. My boy. The man I've adored ever since the Leafs acquired him years ago for the lousy Mike Johnson. What a steal. And what a player. It's hard to believe I'll never see #16 lace 'em up again in Toronto colours. It's a sad day. I will truly miss him.
For Darcy, it all came down to his contract. Of all the guys with no-trade clauses in their contracts going forward (Tucker, McCabe, Kubina, and Kaberle), Tucker's was the most buyout-able. With three years and $9 million left on his deal, the Leafs are now on the hook for two-thirds of it, $6 million, and are able to spread it out, $1 million a year over the next six years, against the NHL's salary cap.
In other words, the Leafs are paying Darcy Tucker $6 million to leave.
A lot of the reaction I've already read and heard has to do with Jason Blake. If Tucker is being shown the door, why is Blake still a part of the club's plans? Again, it all comes down to Blake's contract. With $16 million and four years still left on his deal, buying out his contract would cost the Leafs over $10 million against the salary cap, and Fletcher has decided that he can't go down that route.
Ditto for Bryan McCabe. He's too expensive to be given the boot.
It hasn't sunk in that Tucker is done in Toronto. It won't until training camp opens in September and he's not around. At the same time, I can understand why he was targeted. His production dipped badly last season and his defensive shortcomings were glaring. In the past three years, in which the Leafs failed to qualify for the playoffs (just in case you forgot), Tucker was a -31. He'd become a power play specialist and, last year, a predictable one at that. He's also been slowed by injuries.
Still, in my heart, Tucker was the embodiment of a Toronto Maple Leaf. He played with so much pride and passion that it was impossible not to love and appreciate him. Who can possibly forget the time he jumped right into the Ottawa Senators bench, ready to take them all on.
Darcy wore the Maple Leafs sweater with so much pride. At times, even when it was probably beneficial for him to rest his battered little frame and get healthy, he'd still go out there, because all he wanted to do was contribute and help his fellow Maple Leafs. Nothing gave the small town Alberta boy more joy than being a Toronto Maple Leaf. I truly believe he wanted nothing more than to succeed in Toronto and help deliver a long overdue Stanley Cup to this championship-starved city. That's what makes his premature departure so difficult. He didn't take off the Maple Leafs jersey he wore with such immense pride. He had it removed from his shoulders.
While I know that Tucker's injuries have taken his game down a level or two - he's "worn out," to use Coach Wilson's words - I still believed he had a role on the Leafs. His sideshow act from years gone by aside, I thought he had a lot to teach the young players who will lead the Maple Leafs into the future.
Shoaltsy at The Globe is reporting that, of course, Tucker took the news like "a real professional...who's looking forward to getting his career back on track somewhere else." I hope he lands on his feet, and I'm sure he will. Tucker has something left to give, and I hope the next city he plays hockey in appreciates him as much as those of us in Toronto did. That guy lives for the playoffs. I hope he gets back there as soon as possible, and gets his name on the Cup for all eternity.
Stay classy, Darcy. Your grit, heart, passion and determination will be sorely missed. Even though you were drafted by the Montreal Canadiens, played for the Tampa Bay Lightning, and will put on the sweater of another NHL team in the coming days, you'll always be a Toronto Maple Leaf to me...
To read Greener's tribute to Darcy Tucker over at He Score, He Shoot! click here. Sean over at Down Goes Brown thinks Tucker might be back. One day. Check out his post on #16 here.
Showing Tucker towards the exit wasn't the only order of business for Grandfather Cliff yesterday. Much to my dismay, Kyle Wellwood was placed on waivers, along with the human sieve Andrew Raycroft. Welly will likely become a free agent, while Raycroft will be bought out of his contract, because no GM, not even one drunk out of his mind, will touch that contract with a thousand-gajillion foot pole.
I'd like to take this opportunity to once again thank John Ferguson Jr. for completely butchering the Leafs for years to come thanks to the completely boneheaded contracts he handed out and ridiculous personnel decisions he made. So, umm, thanks, fucker. Now back to your regularly scheduled programming.
I'm honestly a little shocked the Leafs are throwing in the towel on Wellwood. Clearly we're embarking on this whole rebuild thing, yet Wellwood isn't welcome back. Why? Is it because of his injuries? His work ethic? He's only 25! Who's he going to keep a roster spot from? Boyd Devereaux? Dominic Moore? Nothing against those two, they were great waiver wire additions, but this one just doesn't make sense to me. It wouldn't have cost much to bring Wellwood back, I'm thinking $1.2 or $1.5 million, but I guess that's too rich for the Leafs. They gave Carlo Colaiacovo a raise after a season in which he was injured again and played only 48 games, but Wellwood's got to go. Right.
In a sick and twisted supportive stance of Wellwood, I hope this one comes back and bites the Leafs in the ass. History has proven that some of the smallish players, who clearly do have some skill, take a little longer to develop. Remember Steve Sullivan (props to Sean at Down Goes Brown for the reminder)? The Leafs released him for nothing, and he went on to have a pretty decent career.
Daniel Briere was put on waivers back in 2001. Every NHL team had a chance to pick him up. For nothing. None of them did. Ditto for Martin St. Louis. He was put on waivers by the Calgary Flames, went unclaimed, released, and then signed as a free agent by Tampa Bay. The rest is history.
I'm not saying Wellwood is going to become the next Briere, who was a first round draft pick and came with much higher expectations. I'm not saying he's going to be the next St. Louis, a seriously late-bloomer who slipped through everyones cracks. What I am saying, however, is that Wellwood is way better than Matt fucking Stajan!
In all honesty, I do think that Wellwood does have the potential to have a decent career in this league, much like Steve Sullivan has. I find the notion that his NHL career might be over to be a ridiculous one. Someone is going to take a chance on little Welly.
Here's hoping Kyle and Darcy both gives the Leafs a little something to regret in the coming years.
As for Raycrap, he's dead to me. Buy him out. It doesn't matter what it costs, it's worth it. Raycroft is a disease. We must be cleansed of him. Good riddance to bad rubbish.
And I must say, Cliff Fletcher is serious about success.
June 25, 2008
Cheers, Darcy Tucker
Posted by
Navin Vaswani (@eyebleaf)
at
6/25/2008
3
comments
Tags: boyd devereaux, Bryan McCabe, buy him out, Cliff Fletcher, Darcy Tucker, Dave Shoalts, Dominic Moore, Jason Blake, John Ferguson Jr., Kyle Wellwood, Matt Stajan, Raycrap, Toronto Maple Leafs
March 29, 2007
Huge Dubyas
Big win for the Raptors tonight at home against the Heat. They went with a small lineup and simply dominated Miami, who just aren't the same without D-Wade in the backcourt.
Chad Kilger has finally found a permanent home with the Toronto Maple Leafs. Love the guy.
Kaberle is back and Kaberle is healthy. He's a genuis with the puck out on the ice. Simply adore the guy.
Jeff O'Neill, get comfortable in the press box my man. The Leafs are a much better team when O'Neill is out of the lineup. I'm tired of the guy.
Boyd Devereaux has earned a spot on the Leafs for next season. Great signing by JFJ. Everyone has got to love this guy because he's been just a pleasant surprise.
Another big game Thursday night against the Thrashers. The Leafs have six more games, they can afford to lose only one. They need to play just like they did Tuesday night - aggressive, assertive and hard. Leave it all out on the ice, boys.
Posted by
Navin Vaswani (@eyebleaf)
at
3/29/2007
0
comments
Tags: Anthony Parker, baseball's back???, boyd devereaux, Chad Kilger, jeff o'neill, JFJ, kris humphries, rafael arraujo, Rasho Nesterovic, Tomas Kaberle, Toronto Maple Leafs, Toronto Raptors
March 13, 2007
The Comeback Kids
An article in the Toronto Star by Damien Cox today called out Mats Sundin to step up and lead the Maple Leafs to the playoffs. Sundin went into tonight's tilt against the Tampa Bay Lightning with only one goal, and a bunch of goal posts, in his last seven games. Cox singled out Sundin as the MVP of the Leafs, and the driver of the bus. He said the Leafs' playoff aspirations sit on the broad shoulders of the Captain.
I can't really argue with that.
I know every athlete in Toronto says they don't read the paper, but it sure seemed like Sundin found his way to the sports section of the Star today. He was a force on the ice tonight and led the Leafs to a 3-2 victory over a Tampa Bay squad that looked every bit like a team finishing up a six game road trip.
I went into tonight's game still reeling from Saturday's thrilling come from behind victory over those fun-loving Ottawa Senators. On a side note, it looks like the Sens have the same third period disease the Leafs have suffered from this season. They've been blowing leads left, right and centre recently. It's been fun to watch.
What a comeback by the Leafs Saturday night. They dominated the Senators in all facets of the game and just never quit, even after what seemed like a back-breaking goal by Dany Heatley to close out the second period. Boyd Devereaux and Nik Antropov scored clutch goals in the third period and who better than Darcy Tucker to finish the game in overtime? He loves to score goals and when they're in overtime, against the Senators, it's hard not to go buck wild.
I was up at the cottage Saturday night, and was without a cable connection. I set up shop with a radio and AM 640 and it was sheer euphoria when I heard Joe Bowen call Tucker's overtime winning goal. Another improbable comeback, and another two huge points in the standings.
Tucker's been back for four games, including tonight vs Tampa, and he's got two goals and an assist. Both his goals have been game-winners. He was missed.
Tonight against Tampa Bay the Leafs came out strong once again, but fell behind by scores of 1-0 and 2-1. But like it's been all season with this team, they simply refuse to quit. The Leafs battled back on goals by Chad Kilger, on a great pass by Kyle Wellwood, and Mats Sundin.
Kilger's goal was all about the pass from Wellwood. It was a beautiful saucer pass in tight quarters. Wellwood is the true definition of a playmaker. He makes plays. He's called the Little Magician for a reason because everytime he's on the ice he makes something happen. This guy is just ready to blossom into a bonafide star in the NHL. He's got so much talent and it's great to see him back in the lineup. He really adds another dimension of much-needed skill to this team.
Sundin's goal was all about persistence and dogged determination. He had the puck behind the net, deked out Ponikarovsky, two Tampa defenders and then put it low glove side on Denis. It was a huge goal that tied up the match heading into the third. Sundin was a force on Saturday night, firing 11 shots on Ray Emery, and was dominant again tonight. He really took the team on his back tonight. When the Leafs see their Captain skating so hard and driving to the net with such determination, it's tough not to follow in his footsteps. The goal leaves Sundin only one behind Darryl Sittler for most goals by a Maple Leaf all time. Yet there's still people in Toronto who question this man's toughness and leadership. These people clearly are on crack. Cocaine, it's a helluva drug!
I've got to shoutout my man Nik Antropov. He tied up the hockey game Saturday night against the Sens and got the game winner tonight. He's been clutch to say the least. This guy is finally healthy - touch wood (no seriously, if you're reading this please touch some wood, for Antropov's, and my, sake) - and playing some of the best hockey of his career. He's using his body to shield the puck and going to the dirty areas of the offensive zone. I've said it before and I'll say it again, at $1 million a season Antropov is a ridiculous bargain. He'll be an unrestricted this summer and I definitely want to see Nikky back in a Leafs uniform next season.
I've also got to shout out Andrew Raycroft. It was a tough game for him because he barely saw any rubber in the first two periods. The Leafs were all over the Lightning through the first 40 minutes thanks to an incredibly aggressive and effective forecheck. But once the Leafs took the lead midway through the third it was all Tampa Bay. They came on strong and Raycroft stood tall, making a number of saves in order to assure the Leafs of victory. Lecavalier did hit the post with a minute left to play, but like a friend always used to say, the goalie's always only got to cover what he needs to. And it's about freakin time the Leafs caught a lucky break.
Speaking of Raycroft, Glenn Healy made an incredible comment on the broadcast tonight. Raycroft is only five wins away from setting a Leafs record for most wins in a season.
Go ahead, grab your jaw off the floor. I had to do the same.
Got it? Good. I know. It's hard to believe. But I guess that's what happens when he plays almost every game. At the end of the day, he's winning. That's all that matters.
Perreault, O'Neill and Steen all saw less than eight minutes of ice time tonight. Stajan, on the other hand, saw more than 15 minutes of ice time. I don't get it. I really don't. But it doesn't matter. The only thing that matters right now is the two points, and the Leafs got em.
It's tough not to look at the standings right now, especially with such an intense race for the final two playoff spots being waged. The Leafs sit in 9th place after their win tonight, and still control their own destiny. The standings don't matter because the Leafs just have to keep winning games. If they win, everything else will take care of itself.
The Leafs swept the season series with the Lightning this year, going 4-0. They came back from behind in each and every game.
It's a testament to the attitude of this team. They just never quit. Paul Maurice said it best, it's tough to not root for a team that simply refuses to give up, especially when the odds are stacked against them.
The Leafs have dealt with a ridiculous amount of injuries. They are near the top of the NHL in man-games lost to injury. All the other teams that have been dealt as many injuries as the Leafs are no where near the playoffs. Yet here we are, 70 games into the season, and the Leafs are in the thick of the race, one point behind Carolina for that 8th spot.
The Leafs have dealt with goaltending questions all year as well. The only consistent part of Raycroft's game is his inconsistency. I've been one of the many people who have been calling for Aubin to get more game action. But Maurice has done his best to quell a goaltending controversy. Razor is the number one guy and now I've bought into Maurice's faith. Raycroft is the guy, no matter how inconsistent he is, and I think he should play every game left from here on out.
The Leafs specialty teams have been atrocious. The penalty kill has been near the bottom all season, and that's not going to change. The Leafs can't kill penalties. There's no penalty killing switch the Leafs can turn on. They simply suck at it. The only solution is to stop taking penalties.
The power play was strong and effective to start the year but has gone into one helluva tailspin. Injuries have ruined the chemistry on the PP and the Leafs are now just average with the extra man. The power play used to be the strongest part of the Leafs' game! It's amazing how unproductive it has become.
On a related note, this Leafs team is markedly better 5 on 5 than it was last year. The team's 5 on 5 play was it's most glaring weakness last season, but John Ferguson Jr. rectified the problem this season. Yet he doesn't really get any credit for doing that, and I think that has something to do with the special teams being so poor. I guess it's one or the other for JFJ.
My point is with so many injuries and such weak special teams, how the hell are the Leafs still in this race? It comes down to passion and hard work. And that is what Paul Maurice is all about. This Leafs team is full of passion and pride. On many nights, passion can take a team just as far, if not farther, than talent alone. It's an extremely valuable asset to have, and this Leafs team has it in abundance.
By the way, how about the signing of Boyd Devereaux? JFJ deserves some serious props for that one. He's been a productive player at both ends of the rink.
I think the Leafs deserve some serious credit for still just being in this race. The win tonight simply keeps them in the race. They played with a lot of energy and passion tonight and they have no choice but to keep it up if they want to make the playoffs.
The Ottawa Senators, up 3-1 on the Leafs going into the third period Saturday night, had a chance to dig the nail into the coffin on the Leafs' season. But the Leafs refused to go silently into the night. They weren't going to have it. They battled, they fought, and they needed a few extra minutes, but they got to the two points.
That's all that matters.
Twelve games remain. That's 24 points still available. The Leafs control their own destiny. Weekend road dates with the Washington Capitals and Montreal Canadiens await. They are games the Leafs should, and need to, win.
This team won't roll over and die, and I'm proud of em. They are resilient.
Paul Maurice is right - it is tough not to cheer for this team; a blue collar team that just refuses to throw in the towel. Sundin, Tucker and McCabe simply won't let this team fold. They will not go quietly into the night.
I, on the other hand, will.
Goodnight, Toronto...
Posted by
Navin Vaswani (@eyebleaf)
at
3/13/2007
0
comments
Tags: Andrew Raycroft, bitching about injuries, boyd devereaux, Chad Kilger, Damien Cox, Darcy Tucker, JFJ, Kyle Wellwood, Mats Sundin, Nik Antropov, Ottawa Senators Suck, Toronto Maple Leafs
January 11, 2007
Another Year
Long time.
How've you been?
Good? Me too.
Happy New Year.
I can't believe we've reached 2007 already. Time flies.
I haven't checked in for a while. Definitely a busy time of year.
Sports And The City is now coming to you live and direct from the downtown core, for the next four months.
It's the last four months of journalism school at Ryerson. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, and it's not the train this time.
First of all I have to shout out the Canadian World Junior team that captured another gold medal in Sweden. That's three in a row for the Canadians. We run this game.
It's amazing how much this tournament resonates so heavily amongst the Canadian population. It's a teenage hockey tournament, yet the whole country is watching each and every game. Canadians are obsessed with hockey, and I don't know about you, but I'm proud of it.
It was the third straight outstanding performance by Canada's kids. The juniors are 18-0 in the last three tournaments.
Domination is definitely there.
---------------
The Leafs opened 2007 with a bang by spanking the Bruins twice in a row. 5-1 and 10-2. The second game was a complete joke, and if you didn't see it, you probably wouldn't believe who scored. Steen had a hat-trick and five points, Stajan had two goals and two assists and Battaglia scored two goals. Steen had only 10 points coming into the game. Tim Thomas played a really sad game in goal, and the Bruins defense didn't help much either.
But in typical inconsistent Maple Leafs fashion, the Leafs have dropped their last two contests. I felt they deserved a better fate against Buffalo on the weekend, but Raycroft cost them the game, straight up. The fourth Buffalo goal was unacceptable. Raycroft was down way too early and once again his catching glove was by his hip, instead of in the air. It was a momentum-killing goal, as usual, and in the end the Leafs fell one goal short.
Raycroft is really starting to piss me off.
The media is beginning to question the Leafs' goaltending daily now, and the heat is on. One of Raycroft or Aubin need to step up or it's goodbye, playoffs. The Leafs are now on the road in 9 of their next 11 games, so the time is now. This is the most crucial stage of the Leafs season, and will determine whether they play in the spring.
I personally don't think this is a playoff team, so I wouldn't be surprised if the Leafs drop 7 of their next 11. They haven't shown themselves to be a good road team and the goaltending just isn't good enough.
The Carolina/Leafs game on Tuesday night was straight boring. I don't know what it is about Canes/Leafs games at the ACC but they're always a snooze. It seemed like no one gave a damn, and the fans were so quiet.
Speaking of Carolina, I really hate Erik Cole. This guy just gets to me. I was hoping someone on the Leafs would drill him, but it didn't happen.
My mind is getting off track. What I want to see out of Andrew Raycroft is some passion and some poise. I want to see him step up. I want to see him play better. I want to see him get pissed off when the opposition scores. I want him to be more of a leader. The goalie is unique, in that he can take the team on his back and lead them. I want to see Raycroft play with a sense of purpose that he hasn't shown me so far. I want him to prove to me that he's a number one goalie, because I and a lot of other people, sure as hell don't believe that he is. I don't even think his teammates believe that he is.
What else about the Leafs?
- The injury bug strikes again. Ian White is out 3 to 4 weeks with a shoulder separation. And I heard Tucker's foot is actually broken, so he'll be out a little longer, and that Wellwood's injury is more serious than the team is letting on.
- Boyd Devereaux has played well since being recalled from the Marlies. I think he had a four game point streak to start his Leafs career. He seems like he can play in the NHL. The line of Pohl-Devereaux-Battaglia has been solid. They can all control the puck down low really well, especially Battaglia. One of my buddies, Faran, reminds me of Battaglia. Just a pure grinder down low.
- I love John Pohl. He's been fantastic since Peca went down. JFJ, don't resign Peca. Let Pohl play. Play with the Pohl, as my buddy Winson says.
- Kubina finally scored. $5 million = 1 goal.
- Oh yeah, I forgot about Travis Green. He's back. Fresh off the waiver wire. Anaheim's garbage that the Leafs picked up off the curb. He's just like all the other jobbers the Leafs have. His signing meant the return of Erik Westrum to the Marlies. He played about 7 minutes total in three games. With Belak and Ondrus. Unbelievable. Screw Travis Green, and give Westrum a shot with other real hockey players. Ondrus should be sent down, not Westrum.
- Kaberle has been playing kind of poorly the last few games. Paul Maurice has broken up the Kaberle-McCabe combo. Kabby is now playing with his countryman Kubina. I don't mind the combo, maybe it was time to split up the dynamic duo. Hopefully Kabby will adjust, and I'm sure he will, and his play will elevate.
- Will Tucker re-sign with the Leafs? As much as I love Darcy, maybe the Leafs should let him test the free agent market. Scott Gomez and Shane Doan are two guys who will be unrestricted free agents this summer. I would ABSOLUTELY LOVE to see Gomez in Leafs uniform. That would give the Leafs two decent centres, imagine that!
- Matt Stajan is the lamest excuse for a hockey player I have seen in a long time. This guy doesn't deserve to be a Toronto Maple Leaf. I'm utterly sick of him.
- Stay tuned for the Leafs mid-season report card. Well, a week after mid-season report card.
---------------
I caught some of the Raptors/Bucks game tonight. The Raps played a banged-up Bucks squad and took it to them. Chuck Swirsky brought out the salami and cheese with about two and a half minutes left in the 4th quarter. It was a 90-77 final.
It was a good win for the Raps, after a poor effort against Vince Carter's New Jersey Nets. The Raps, defying all logic, started last night's game against New Jersey and were down 15-0 five minutes in. They missed their first 12 shots and the starting unit had only something like 20 points. TJ Ford went 0 for 8 from the field. It was a big game too, for the lead in the division, and the starting unit just didn't have it.
It made tonight's game important and the Raps answered the call. Bosh was strong, pouring in 30 points. Ford bounced back from his worst game as a Raptor and registered a double-double against his former team.
The Raps are at 16-20 and are crawling towards a .500 record and respectability. With Bryan Colangelo comes respect. He's like the Godfather, he just illicits respect. The guys he brought over - Garbajosa, Parker, Ford and Bargnani - are all paying huge dividends.
The Andrea Bargnani Rookie Of The Year campaign has officially begun. And deservedly so. This guy has a sweeeeeeeet touch. Got to just love Il Mago.
---------------
Another year is upon us. All I hope is that 2007 is a prosperous year for the Leafs, Jays and Raptors. I just want to watch the playoffs in 2007. I don't care which sport it is, or which professional team it is.
As much as I love Leafs playoff hockey, I'll be happy with a Raptors playoff birth. More than happy. Just let me watch meaningful games involving Toronto. It's such a pleasure, and I miss it, I really do.
Good luck Maple Leafs, Raptors and Blue Jays. Make me proud. Make this city proud, once again.
Goodnight, Toronto...
Posted by
Navin Vaswani (@eyebleaf)
at
1/11/2007
0
comments
Tags: Andrea Bargnani, bitching about injuries, boyd devereaux, erik cole, happy new year, Raycrap, scott gomez, Toronto Maple Leafs, Toronto Raptors, travis green wtf?, World Junior Tournament