Showing posts with label rafael arraujo. Show all posts
Showing posts with label rafael arraujo. Show all posts

November 13, 2008

Imagine The Iguodala

A part of me understands that the NBA draft is a crapshoot. There's a certain element of luck involved. Sometimes a guy just doesn't work out. I get that. 


Another part of me wants to absolutely pummel former Raptors GM Rob Babcock for drafting Rafael Araujo over Andre Iguodala back in 2004.

Araujo. Over Iguodala. Oh, the humanity. All these years later, after I've bitched about it and bitched about it some more, I'm still bitching. It still smarts.

Iguodala was in town last night, along with his Philadelphia 76ers teammates, to remind us once more of what could have been. The 76ers were 2-5 coming into the game, and winless on the road, but they left the ACC victorious, of course.

The ghosts of Araujo, that useless lug, were in the air. Iguodala put on a clinic. He didn't have his best shooting game, going 5-for-13 from the floor, but finished with 18 points, 10 assists, and nine rebounds. Andre Iguodala is one athletic mother sucker.

He is, to a mother fucking tee, what the Raptors lack: a presence on the wing, who can play either the two or three, that can take the ball to the rack. And defend. It kills me, absolutely kills me, to know that we could have had him. 

I don't think any of Anthony Parker, Jason Kapono, and Jamario Moon are starters in the NBA. Not that there's anything wrong with that. All three would be more effective in a defined role off the bench. AP was 4-16 from the floor last night, Kapono was invisible in 30 minutes of action, and if Moon settles for another jump shot, I will kill him myself.

I think Bryan Colangelo knows that the honeymoon is over, and that he's got to fix the team's glaring weakness at the wing. We're not getting points, or defence, from the position. I just don't know what the hell BC can do about it. 

To add to mine and the Raptors' woes, it looks like Jose Calderon might be in civilian garbs on Sunday after he tweaked his hamstring yesterday. I was impressed by Will Soloman during last Sunday's snoozefest in Charlotte, but any injury to Jose has to be considered the Raptors' worst nightmare. It's typical, I guess. 

Seriously, though. It's one thing to err on a draft pick. It happens (see: Adams, Russ and Cereda, Luca). It's another to draft Rafael "Hoffa" Araujo over Andre Iguodala.

Fuck you, Rob Babcock.

October 31, 2007

Guess Who's Bizzack?

Our favorite dinosaurs of the hard court, that’s who. The Toronto Raptors open their new season tonight at home against the Philadelphia 76ers, but I’m more upset than excited. The Raptors are being shown no love and I won’t stand for it much longer.

First of all, what the hell is a 76er? I’m curious as to:

a) how Philadelphia’s franchise got that name
b) why Philadelphia’s franchise got that name
c) why it hasn’t been changed

I guess I could Google it, but it’s the 76ers, so really, who cares?

The Raptors are coming off a ridiculously successful season. 47 wins, the franchise’s first division crown, a playoff series, Coach-of-the-Year honors for Sam Mitchell, and Executive-of-the-Year honors for His Majesty Bryan Colangelo. Yes, the playoff ouster at the hands of his whore-ness Vince Carter and the New Jersey Nets was tough to swallow, but it was vital experience in the evolution of the Raptors (get it, evolution and Raptors? You know, the whole dinosaur connection? Oh, forget it). Bottom line, it was experience this team needed to gain in order to take the next step.

What does it all mean for this year? To the NBA pundits and prognosticators, nothing at all. The Raptors are being slept on and being shown zero respect. What’s a basketball team got to do in order to be shown some love around here!?!?

The Raps boast one of the deepest rotations in the league, an All-Star power forward in Chris Bosh who is getting better every year, and super-sophomore Andrea Bargnani, who is poised to break out and become the star we, in Toronto, know he will eventually become. So what's the deal? As a buddy of mine would say, where's the love?

I’ve got a lot of love for Bill Simmons from ESPN’s Page 2. His column is one of the best in the business. I read it on the regular – got the RSS hookup on my Google Reader – but I was shocked and chagrined to see his predictions for the NBA’s Eastern Conference. Brace yourselves, here they are:

BILL SIMMONS:
PREDICTIONS FOR THE SEASON
EAST PLAYOFF TEAMS
1. Chicago, 56-26
2. Boston, 49-33
3. Miami, 43-39
4. Detroit, 50-32
5. New Jersey, 45-37
6. Milwaukee, 41-41
7. Atlanta, 40-42
8. Indiana, 40-42

Where the fudge are the Raptors on this list, Bill?!?!? He’s taking Milwaukee, Atlanta and Indiana over Toronto?!? This has got to be some kind of joke. My guess is that, because the Raptors play in Canada, the great country to the north of our ignorant American cousins, Simmons has simply forgotten the Raptors exist. Or he’s still drunk from celebrating his Red Sox’s World Series victory (the latter deserves some serious consideration).

Bill, my man, these Raptors are not extinct! They are alive and well, and on their way to another Atlantic Division title (Dave Feschuk, of the Toronto Star, is predicting 50 wins).

Simmons has got the Boston Celtics winning the Atlantic – what a surprise. It’s the cool thing to do. Everyone’s doing it. Yeah, yeah, I know they’ve got Kevin Garnett, Ray Allen and Paul Pierce. But who else? Name another two guys on that team other than Rondo or Posey? I can’t do it. The Celtics will be much improved, but they aren’t knocking the Raptors off their perch, no sir.

Simmons isn’t the only one disrespecting the Raptors. Sports Illustrated has Toronto pegged to enter the Eastern Conference playoffs as the eighth seed. The last seed.

It’s not just the media that's invited to the Show No Love to the Raptors party. In the NBA’s annual general manager survey, no one picked the Raptors to repeat as Atlantic Division champs.

I don’t get it.

Let’s not forget that this was a brand new team full of fresh faces last October. His Majesty Bryan Colangelo - I refer to him as His Majesty because of the way he turned the team around - is royalty. He’s a savior sent from the heavens, and after he managed to trade the lump of coal known as Rafael Araujo, it became clear that he is also a miracle-worker. BC came in and gutted the team he inherited, bringing in nine new faces. On a basketball team, that’s unheard of. And it worked.

After the team got off to a rough start – they were something like 2-8 or 2-10 – the calls for Sam Mitchell’s head got louder and louder, but BC stuck by his coach and his team. The team was able to stay above water with Chris Bosh on the injured list. Bosh returned, rounded back into All-Star form and the rest, as they say, is history.

BC and the Raps had a quiet off-season. Jason Kapono is the prized acquisition and he is the best three point shooter in the NBA. Not too shabby. He will help an already potent shooting team. If Andrei Kirilenko in Utah is AK-47, Jason Kapono is JK-47. He’s got a sweet stroke and can get his shot off in a hurry, a la Dell Curry (hey, that rhymes!). Welcome to Toronto, new friend.

Yes, the Raptors still can’t rebound and don’t play really tough defense, but with the talent Sam Mitchell has at his disposal, the best defense for the Raptors will be a strong offense.

With the point guard tandem that Toronto Star beat grunt writer, and one of the best in the biz I might add, Doug Smith calls “T.J. Calderon” the sky is the limit for this Raptors squad. Jorge Garbajosa, the blue-collar Spaniard is back and although he’s still technically playing on a broken leg, he looks like he’s ready to go. He was sorely missed last year in the playoffs. Here’s hoping his leg will hold up (literally), because his injury still sends a chill down my spine when I think about it.

For His Majesty BC, it’s all about continuity and chemistry, two things that are seriously overlooked when people try to predict how many wins a team will get. This Raptors squad is a notoriously tight-knit one. They’ve garnered a reputation of being almost too nice. They need to add a little Charles Oakley to their game, and I’m looking to Chris Bosh to bring it.

As upset as I am about the continued disrespect shown the Toronto Raptors way, a part of me is thinking it may be a good thing. Let the league sleep on the Raptors. Let the Raptors use it as motivation in their quest to an NBA championship. It’s going to happen, of this I’m sure, as long as His Majesty BC is at the helm.

Tip off’s at 7:00pm and Jason Kapono is in the starting lineup.

Monday night, while the Leafs were getting their tails handed to them, once again, by the Washington Capitals, a chant broke out in the third period of the 7-1 debacle:

“Let’s Go Raptors!” (clap, clap…clapclapclap).

Now that’s what I’m talking about...

March 29, 2007

Huge Dubyas

Big win for the Raptors tonight at home against the Heat. They went with a small lineup and simply dominated Miami, who just aren't the same without D-Wade in the backcourt.


Anthony Parker was huge, but it was a total team effort with six guys scoring in double figures, including all five starters. Everyone contributed, just like Mitchell said they would have to.

Shoutout to the The Hump. He pulled down 10 boards in 27 minutes, and seven of them were offensive rebounds. Still can't believe we got this guy for Hoffa. It will amaze me till the day I die.

With every passing game, I grow fonder of Rasho Nesterovic. He is the centre I have always dreamed about playing for the Toronto Raptors. Nothing flashy, but he just gets the job done. He's played guys like Shaq and Dwight Howard amazingly well this year. He knows what is expected of him at the offensive end, and he's the leader on the defensive end. Rasho's a rudey.

As of tonight, the Raptors are in third place in the East. That means home-advantage in the first round, and the Raptors are dynamite at the ACC.

Huge win by the Leafs over the Hurricanes. A solid beating, one that was well-earned and due. The Canes lost to the Flyers tonight. These guys don't look like they're going to be in the race much longer.

Chad Kilger has finally found a permanent home with the Toronto Maple Leafs. Love the guy.

Kaberle is back and Kaberle is healthy. He's a genuis with the puck out on the ice. Simply adore the guy.

Jeff O'Neill, get comfortable in the press box my man. The Leafs are a much better team when O'Neill is out of the lineup. I'm tired of the guy.

Boyd Devereaux has earned a spot on the Leafs for next season. Great signing by JFJ. Everyone has got to love this guy because he's been just a pleasant surprise.

Another big game Thursday night against the Thrashers. The Leafs have six more games, they can afford to lose only one. They need to play just like they did Tuesday night - aggressive, assertive and hard. Leave it all out on the ice, boys.

On a side note, I can't believe baseball's regular season kicks off Monday afternoon. Where the hell did the off-season go? Time flies.

I'm worried about the Jays. Especially the bullpen.

But I'm excited about the Leafs making the post-season, hopefully, and the Raptors. Tonight's win over the Heat was for Garbo. Get well soon, amigo.

Goodnight Toronto...